top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Zhang

Fashion for the Cure 2020

15 high school students. 9 months. $77,204. 1 remarkable charity.


WOW. March 6, 2020, is one for the history books. Guess the saying "hard work pays off" is true because our Fashion for the Cure (FFTC) committee raised OVER 77k for kids with cancer. If you're unfamiliar with what Fashion for the Cure (FFTC) is, it is an entirely STUDENT PLANNED charity fashion show, benefitting a local nonprofit in my community, The Dragonfly Foundation. They're focused on providing strength, courage, and joy to kids with cancer and their families:)


Now in addition to being on the planning committee, I'm a designer! This year, I made two looks/three pieces for the show- stay tuned for my next blog post to read about the other look! As for the one featured below, both are 100% upcycled!


So, why is that?


After becoming more informed and involved in sustainable fashion, I co-lead the addition of our sustainability portion in the 2020 show. Our goal was to show how we don't need to throw away our unwanted items but rather, we can recycle and revamp it. Plus, I LOVE upcycling!! In fact, it's how I first got into fashion:)



For the top, I upcycled it from a basic white t-shirt. As much as I love minimalistic pieces, I was becoming bored with my plain white tee; thus, I wanted to add a fun flair to the basic shirt while maintaining its minimalistic features. By cutting out the neckline and adding my signature ruffle, I felt like this top got a modern makeover.

~ps: because of the many requests I have received, I WILL be selling these shirts. To place an order, Instagram DM me @designsby.grace, text me or email me at zgrace222@gmail.com- each one is $25:)


As for the bottom, I've always loved the look of white on denim so I wanted to create a jean skirt-but more unique. After digging around at a local thrift store, I had I found three pairs of jeans in different color washes that perfectly contrasted, yet complemented, each other; it also felt like I had struck gold because in total, they cost $3 and since I didn't even use all the denim for the skirt, I probably spent less than $2 to make this skirt! Would you look at that, a wallet-friendly AND environmentally friendly garment.

~ps: if you'd like to see how I made the skirt, stay tuned for a process video! With the end of the quarter quickly approaching, I've been swamped with school work so hopefully, I'll have it up in the next two weeks or so.


So, which piece was your favorite?


XOXO,

grace

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page